On the first day of this challenge (from thesupermomwannabe.com) we were to take 5 minutes from our day and engulf ourselves in complete silence. Clear our minds of anything that’s on our to-do list, and just sit and enjoy the sound of nothing. 


In my house there are 2 children. These 2 children have enough cousins and aunts & uncles that by the time they are 1 1/2, they have figured out that “the loudest one gets heard”. That being said, my 5 minutes of silence came during nap time. 

Leading up to nap time there were 3 meltdowns during school work and I had mac and cheese thrown at me. I also did laundry, ran the dishwasher, then threatened a spanking for one of them acting like a fountain. And last but not least, I tried ever so hard (again) to find a lost/stolen key to a filing cabinet. 

By the time I actually sat down I was so frazzled that it took 7 tries to get my mind to shut up. But you know what? I did it. I sat for 5 minutes in silence. It was strange. It felt out of place in my day. It also made me feel a bit uncomfortable physically. Not being on my phone, or writing down an item on the shopping list. It was good though. It’s something that will be done every day during the challenge.

Did you do the challenge today? How did it go?
Love,

