I have decided, for some God known reason, to do (not just attempt) the Couch to 5k. Now I may not actually DO a 5k at the end, we’ll see, but I will do the program. And you, lucky reader, get to go on this journey with me. Good luck. You’re going to need it. 

A little bit about my past. I played soccer for my entire adolescents. Along with basketball for a few years and I attempted a few other sports as well. My dad is a guys guy and I’m pretty sure he wanted me to be a boy. I remember going to the school on the weekends and practicing my free throws. I learned how to grip a golf club, I’m pretty sure, at the tender age of newborn. Mind you I never got good at golf, but my mom and I used to go play par 3, 9 holes every once in a while. My dad would never go with us, because he would’ve lost his mind. Mulligan is the name of the game. So, I have a past of being very active and in shape.

Now at the tender age of 30 I have two, well let’s just call them children; because the banshee scream my son produces and the 13-year-old attitude my five-year-old has, can’t really be put into one word. I still have “baby weight” that I need to lose… after almost 3 years. I get winded walking up a flight of stairs. I can barely button my jeans anymore. And overall I don’t like what I see when I look in the mirror.

So here it goes. I will forewarn you that “it’s is my work out and I will cry if I want to”. (I saw that on the shirt on Pinterest)

Day 1: I woke up at 5 AM, yes they have one of those in the morning too; did yoga, a pre-running a stretch, and then did 1 mile of Walk Away The Pounds. Mainly because my husband was at work, my children are sleeping (so I couldn’t leave them home alone) and it’s snowing. No, walk away the pounds isn’t really part of the Couch to 5K program, but until I get my treadmill that’s what I’m going to be doing.


Time to get the kids up For school. 
Update: I went and bought cold weather running clothes and while my son was in preschool I did day 1 of the actual couch to 5k app. It’s 11:30pm and I’m freaking starving. 

Here goes something,

