Week 1 day 5 is a run day. And this may be the only time in my life I wish I didn’t live in Colorado. 

Running in the cold is an animal all its own. There are so many things to take into account. #1 being, you have more layers to take off when you need to use the restroom. And you will need to use the restroom. 

Side note: running is actually really good for digestive health. Especially if you’re keeping good posture. 

Okay back to the cold! Layers. Like onions. Which also smell after they run. (Don’t think about it too hard). 

When running in the cold, your body should be protected from the elements. I found this really great chart:


Look how happy they all are! How unrealistic is that? None of them are spitting or yelling at their calves to quit cramping. Nope. Just happy, joyful, unsweaty runners.

With running in the cold you also are breathing in cold air, which in theory is nice, since your body is warm/hot from running. However, breathing in frozen air HURTS! Your lungs do NOT like it and they seem to refuse to let you continue your abuse. They even tell your sides to cramp up so you stop moving. 

Needless to say, I’m going to invest in a treadmill. Because I value my life. 

Until Tomorrow, 

